Rock the Ice 2022

Light and challenging winds with warming sun made for an excellent regatta.  Temperatures starting in the freezing zone warmed during the day to the low 60’s.  After one race, the winds died down and the boats had to towed back to the clubhouse for lunch.  After lunch, the winds came back and the competitors were in for four more races in increasing winds toping off at about 15 mph and warmer sun getting temps up to the low 60 degrees.  Steven Benenson was our PRO and led a very capable crew adjusting course as needed.

Dinner with three different chillies was cooked and served by Bowman, Audrey, and Mandy topping off with lemon bars.  

Sunday morning saw lighter winds coming from the west with occasional shots in the low tens.  With two more races in, competitors were rewarded in a dropped score.

You can find all the photos taken by Heidi Gough here.

End of Year Awards

It has been a great year for Dallas Laser Fleet.  We have new members joining CSC.  We have members of WRBC joining us for Wednesday night racing.  The new dock is under construction which will supply 16 more boat pads.  Future is looking bright.

Here are the winners in 2014.

Series 1 Winners
Mark Babb, 1st
Forest Atkins, 2nd
Owen Bushaw, 3rd

Series 2 Winners
Griffin Orr, 1st
Mark Babb, 2nd
Forest Atkins, 3rd

Series 3 Winners
Sklyar Bayman, 1st
Briggs North, 2nd
Owen Bushaw, 3rd

2014 Overall Winners
Owen Bu​shaw, 1st
Forest Atkins, 2nd
Greg Wallace, 3rd

Top Junior  Skylar Bayman
Top Woman  Crista Hvidsten
Most Improved  Greg Wallace
Corinthian Sailor  Mark Babb
Top Rookie  Don Silva
Turtle Award  Don Silva
Turtle Award  John Oliver